File Access Revoked Notification
This article explains the notification Anchor users will receive when their access to a file is revoked.
You will learn:
- What it means when your file access is revoked.
- How to revoke access to a file using the Anchor dashboard.
- How to revoke access to a file using Egnyte.
Access to files can be disabled in the dashboard by an administrator or user with access. Organizations may choose to revoke a user's access to files for many reasons. For example, if a user no longer works for the organization.
The "File Access Revoked" notification will pop-up if your file access has been disabled. If you think this is a mistake, contact your administrator to regain access to the file.
Revoking Access to a File
The following tutorial will explain how to disable a user's access a protected file.
- Open the Anchor dashboard
- Navigate to the Users Tab
- Search for the user whose access you would like to revoke
- Disable access by clicking on the power button in the action column on the right side of the screen
- If the user has the file opened, it will be closed by Anchor after 10 – 15 seconds and future access will be revoked. The user will still be able to consume plain text content.
Revoking Access to File Sharing in Egnyte
Egnyte allows users to share files by sending secure links. The following tutorial will explain how to revoke access to a file after the link has already been sent.
Right click on the file and click 'Share with Anchor'
- Click 'Enable/Disable Sharing' in order to revoke or grant access to the file at any time
For detailed tutorials related to revocation, watch the following videos.
Invalid Access Rules Notification
This article explains the notification Anchor users will receive when they are not following a file's access fules. You will learn: What access rules are. What the "Invalid Access Rules" notification means. Which available access rules can be placed ...
Anchored Successfully Notification
This article explains the notification Anchor users will receive when they have Anchored a file. You will learn: What it means when you have anchored a file. How to view a file's access rules. A user can Anchorize (encrypt) a file. The "Files ...
File Out of Protected Folder Notification
This article explains the notification Anchor users will receive when a file is outside of a protected folder. You will learn: What a protected folder is. What it means when your file is outside of a protected folder. What happens when your file is ...
Save a Protected File into a Non-Protected Folder Notification
This article explains the SaveAs Block notification Anchor users may receive. You will learn: What hybrid blocking is. What the "SaveAs Block" notification means. Hybrid blocking is a feature that ensures protected and plain text content cannot mix. ...
No Previous Version of the File to Restore Notification
This article explains the notification DAtAnchor users will receive when there is no previous version of a file to restore. Anchor logs any changes to protected files. Files can be restored to previous versions by right-clicking the file, clicking on ...